Liar liar

You don’t wanna hear this story. Trust me you don’t. But then I didnt wanna live it either. I really didn’t. I dont even want to tell it, not if I don’t have to. But here we are. I’m telling because doing so brings me peace and you’re reading,  because you have an insatiable thirst for good literature and a fascination for dark things. An impasse we are at.

Its a desolate world. I mean that literally. Molten magma bubbles forth from the ground. When it rains, the sky pours death. Acid falls down to the earth but none of it it touches me. I am not there. I walk the rubble earth has become yet I am not there. Its a lie I tell the world and it believes me. This is my power. I lie to existence and it believes me, allowing me to alter the substance of what is. The air is sulphuric and mixed with chemicals that will do all sorts of things to your lungs. Eyes glow in dark alleys. Pets and city creatures warped and twisted along with the rest of this foul world. Their eyes glow, the eyes of frightened monsters. Monsters afraid of a bigger predator, the biggest predator of all in existence, me. Demons fear, the angels, wary. God watches, and my father waits. Waits for me. But I cant wait to meet him. He’s the cause of all this. Hell on earth. A slipover of his prison into ours. A merger, a juxtaposition. I will meet him, he who fathered me alongside evil. Evil and hate. I will meet him and kill him if its the last thing I do. I will rend him limb from limb. My father, the one you call Satan.
I slid the black metal spear from my fingers and play with it. In church they say lets kill the devil. I took that literally. so I found the spear. The unholy spear that had  pierced a god’s flesh, to with it slay the dark soul of another. I dont know if this can kill him. But if any weapon in existence could, it was this one and I couldn’t depend on my talent alone. Can’t lie to a more skilled liar and he’s the father of lies. I let
my mind to go over the planes to when I had ‘acquired’ it. I don’t  physically travel. I had no doubt I could. Move physically through the ether of time. Alter it? Perhaps. My power has few limits. But I don’t travel. I just remember. It was back when I was with the brotherhood and unwittingly served a more experienced devil and liar than myself. I and a few of my dark brothers. We had stormed the Vatican in a blaze of fire and dark magics the Vatican security had no explanation for or counter to. Guns could do little to you when you could lie to reality and it believed you. But two of my mortal brothers fell. I could lie to death itself, make him think it never found them but I didn’t bother. Every war had casualties. There had to be sacrifices. I had paid a steep price to get here. Power was easy. But control was costly. I had paid. And I would pay much more to to balance the scales. There was no absolution. Only balance. So I took the precious weapon from the Vatican vaults and made for the exits. But before we left, we were confronted by another round of Vatican security forces along with the pope himself, holiest man on earth. I had sneered at the thought. I knew too well men were not holy. He had come disbelieving, wanting to see for himself the devil that walked his tranquiline halls and witness the act of dark magic his security reported as unstoppable. He had looked at the item in my fist and trembled in unspeakable anger and fear then finally found his voice. ‘Devil. Son of Satan’ he screamed. I had smiled. If only he knew how accurate his accusations were, how literal. He crossed himself and screamed his security forces at us. He didnt know though. There were things that reside in this world. Things out of it. Dark and powerful, forces and powers imbued with the might of gods, angels and demons. If there is a difference between the three. I showed him things he had never seen before. In the end I let him live as we walked out of one of the most secure buildings in the world with their most hallowed treasure. I needed witnesses to my endgame. I came back to the present and slid the spear back into my cloak. I didn’t need it today. The two assassins that stalked me were human. After all this time, they still tried. Nothing that had a physical form could kill me. But humans are the definition of stupid. And stupid is a large part of stubborn. The two gunmen come out of hiding. They know I am aware of them. No use hiding now. They walk forward. All they see is an unarmed child. Three figures facing each other. Two experienced shooters, one unarmed child with all the darkness in the world in him. But they don’t know this. They pull out silenced .45 colts smoothly and professionally to carry out their executions. No words. I stand before them calmly, waiting  for them to make the first move. They deserved that much even though it gave them no chance whatsoever. It wasn’t all out of fairness however. I was training myself, my reflexes. To see how creative I could get spontaneously. I needed to be demonically fit for what was coming. Pardon the pun. They pointed and pulled the triggers simultaneously. It activated. The air turned fuzzy. The ether substance stirred. I was in my element. I lied. Time was mine, reality too. It tore. Bullets too, into flesh. Two bullets elongate and expand into fur, skin and teeth. Two full grown, African lions prowl to encircle me. One male, the other female. Balance. I reach down to pat them and they purr. I rub their mane while staring evilly at the frightened disbelieving gunmen. Shoot I whisper at the lions. When the scene is done two empty bullets and a lot of gore are lying on the ground. They are back to bullets but the devastating effect of my lie remains, their remains. My next stop is the portal in the Bermuda triangle. The portal/tear/rift from which they accessed this dimension. I could access theirs there too. I remembered a nursery rhyme I used to sing back before the darkness came.

Go in and out the window,
Go in and out the window,
Go in and out the window,
As we have done before.
Go up and down the staircase,
Go up and down the staircase,
Go up and down the staircase,
As we have done before.
Go round and round the village,
Go round and round the village,
Go round and round the village,
As we have done before.
Stand and face your partner,
Stand and face your partner,
Stand and face your partner,
As we have done before.
Now follow her to London,
Now follow her to London,
Now follow her to London,
As we have done before.
Now shake his hand and leave him,
Now shake his hand and leave him,
Now shake his hand and leave him,
As we have done before.

I doubt the rhyme was composed for children intending willing vacations to hell. I chuckle darkly at the humour of it after softly reciting. They could come out the window, I could go in the window. But this was a one way trip and I was going for more than a handshake.  if I went in I wasn’t coming back out, no not likely but oh I would shake something. I would rock hell on its foundations, shake it so hard heaven would feel the quake. I kneeled and smashed my head on the floor releasing black mist from my head. I do it again, more mist. I didn’t need the physical act to lie. But I needed more when lying to myself. Easier to lie to all of existence than to ones own self.  Ironic this but a universal truth and these truths bind even the most experienced lier. The one limit to my power, to our power. I smash my head on the floor one more time then more and more until the floor is covered in mist. I had to channel all the darkness I could muster. For this task I needed the help of all my demons, the ones I had imprisoned in my head. I smash my head against the floor, let them all loose, they scream ‘free!!!…

                               A Dark Goodness.
Book One of The Dark Child Trilogy.

9 thoughts on “Liar liar

  1. This is beautifully frightening! no child who wants to sleep alone should read this – but then that is why it is called the dark goodness.
    didnt expect less anyway, so no surprises

Leave a Reply

