Prince of thorns

My mind is a broken empire.
A place of dark reaches and jagged spires
Smoky skies that shroud red raindrops
Blood spattered mud and amidst it remnants of life
The bones and tendons mixed in the bloody marsh
Making a macabre soup
If you would reach my dark throne
The heart of my kingdom
In the darkest reaches of a chaos ridden valley
Thou must trudge between filth and gore.
face wuthering heights, confront treacherous slopes and heartless peaks
and when you arrive it ain’t no eden.
Tis a place grim and unsmiling
stern and compassionless
Absent of scented roses and perfumed lilacs
a place of withering vines and fastidious thorns
Trudge into my throne room where I sit if thou art bold
tis a place of dark splendour and twisted beauty
Pearls and diamonds do not adorn my halls
Nor do red tapestries and rich marbles
Instead you will find
Teeth and claw of vanquished monsters that dared to climb Into my cruel demesne
Only to find it a crueler, darker place than the jungle they formerly thrived in
‘Its levels to this shit’ they say
You will find the wings of a dragon draped on my back
A leathery cape and memento of past times
You will find
The silvery sword of a prince
Ornate and out of place on my shadowed palace
A memento of past times
You will find a dripping pen, ink crimson
A cold promise to the world I intend to rewrite its history
In blooded parchment, and fire and tempered steel
There’s something beautiful about a rusted sword this one lacks
There’s something beautiful about drapes ringed with cobwebs my hall possesses
Beauty in peeling paint and tattered drapes
Beauty and glitter at the heart of darkness
A beauty all possess but most deny
A beauty they seek to squash and stampede
Here I excel
Because I was not afraid to embrace the dark and make it my home
Because I fully relished the dark fruit
Its amber juices running down my lips as I bit deep into it.
I sit now
On a throne made of doggedness and of rusted metals repolished
Wearing a crown made of pain and passion
Forged in the furnaces of hell
I rule the darkness
I tell you that you cannot rule until your imperfections are perfect
And you cannot see light until you have resided in the belly of the whale
Tasted the slime of slippery entrails as Jonah did
And you curious journeyman
In search of a new home
Tenacious sightseer and would be tourist
Questing damsel in search of her chosen prince
I hope you have the inner light one must have to glimpse the beauty shrouded in the dark
The touch to feel and sift the jewels from the rocks in the muck
And the ear to hear the cry of the baby in the trash.
If you do then welcome in
I hope you find what you find to your liking

Leave a Reply

